BookHound
Reviews and Recommendations by Mel Odom, Professional Writer

UNCOMMON CRIMINALS by Ally Carter

Ally Carter Uncommon Criminals

Uncommon Criminals is the second book in Ally Walker’s Heist Society series. I had a really good time with the first book, so it’s no surprise that I enjoyed the second one as well. In the first book, I was exploring new territory, though, and there’s not much new territory uncovered in this added volume. There is a surprise concerning Uncle Eddie, which was totally unexpected.

I did have a problem with Kat getting fooled at the beginning of this book. She’s a cat burglar, raised by thieves who basically steal from rich bad guys, so that kind of makes it all right for her to pursue the family business. However, she’s also supposed to be really sharp and seeing her getting tricked just bothered me. Of course, she gives the bad guys their comeuppance in the end, but I still just don’t see Kat as being that vulnerable to subterfuge. The author spends time making sure we know she’s not quite on her game, but I still didn’t like how things went for a time.

The supporting cast is back in this one. As always, love seeing Hale – Kat’s second-in-command and potential significant other – back in action. He’s actually one of the coolest characters I’ve read lately and I like him a lot. He reminds me of a young Hawk or Joe Pike. Also, a caper just wouldn’t be complete without the Bagshaws: Angus and Hamish are both back in great form.

Walker gives a nod to the triangle she’s developed between Kat, Hale, and Nick – the son of the FBI agent trying to arrest Kat’s father, but I’m not biting. Hale and Kat belong together, so in my world nothing is ever going to legitimately challenge that.

The action and pacing is good throughout the novel, and it reminds me a lot of a Donald Westlake Dortmunder caper, which always operates by Murphy’s Law: if something can go wrong, it inevitably will.

I had a good time with this one, so I’m looking forward to the third in the series as well as the novella that mixes the characters from Heist Society with the author’s other series, The Gallagher Girls.

No Responses to “UNCOMMON CRIMINALS by Ally Carter”

Leave a Reply

