BookHound
Reviews and Recommendations by Mel Odom, Professional Writer

BRIGHTEST DAY #2 by Geoff Johns, Peter Tomasi, Ivan Reis, Patrick Gleason, Ardian Syaf, Scott Clark, and Joe Prado

After two great issues, I have to admit that BRIGHTEST NIGHT #3 is throwing me a little. The Firestorm story with the Atom is still running, and I can see where the personality clashes between Ronnie Raymond and Jason can “flare” up, but I still don’t have much of a clue about what the characters have really been brought back for. I like the fact that Ray Palmer is so involved in the solution, but him taking the suit back is a grim reminder that the second Atom was recently killed.

The segue into what I think is part of the Martian Manhunter story is just weird, and a little too personally bloody for my taste. The mom in this family just goes psycho after learning that the Martian Manhunter was resurrected. There’s no explanation why, but there is the weird disguise-getting-ripped off scene that no true Martian would ever have to do. There’s just no linchpin to tie this piece to. Yet. I know it will come, but I’m ready to be kept in the loop instead of constantly fed new pieces.

And speaking of new pieces, this cover shows a really cool and mystifying scene of Aquaman, but he’s MIA throughout this whole comic. I just didn’t get that at all.

When the Martian Manhunter does take center stage, I thought it was one of the most interesting bits I’ve ever seen him in. I mean, peeking into the grave of the man responsible for bringing him to earth is pretty creepy. But putting on the dead guy’s image and going to visit his senile daughter in the old folks’ home? That was just over the top. Of course, Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi make the scene work in their story, but it has definite chilling overtones that I wasn’t ready for. I mean, this is “brightest” day we’re talking about.

The Hawks sequence is still pretty cool. I love the splash page of artwork featuring them. Fans are getting some really outstanding panels and pages in these issues because the stable of artists are at the top of their game. However, these pages just advance the mystery Hawkman and Hawkwoman are digging into regarding their past and past selves. I’m hoping I don’t have to wait until all twenty-six issues of this run are finished before I find out what’s going on and what’s at stake.

There’s no sighting of the White Lantern in this issue, though we do get a few pages of Deadman (in name only these days since he too was returned to the land of the living – although he can’t be seen or heard by too many people yet either, so maybe his life/death hasn’t changed all that much). But again, waiting is getting frustrating.

No Responses to “BRIGHTEST DAY #2 by Geoff Johns, Peter Tomasi, Ivan Reis, Patrick Gleason, Ardian Syaf, Scott Clark, and Joe Prado”

Leave a Reply

