BookHound
Reviews and Recommendations by Mel Odom, Professional Writer

BRIGHTEST DAY #1 by Geoff Johns, Peter Tomasi, Ivan Reis, Pat Gleason, Ardian Syaf, Scott Clark, and Joe Prado

Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi continue unreeling DC Comics’ newest mysteries in Brightest Day #1. The once-dead heroes and villains are still trying to figure out their places in the world after being gone. Boston Brand (once Deadman) seems to be the central part of the puzzle, but I still don’t know how he’s going to come through this. He’s alive again, and seems to have the power to return the dead to life, but he’s definitely not all-powerful. He has to resort to hitching rides to do his globe-hopping.

The arrival of Green Arrow, Sinestro, and Star Sapphire to explore the mystery of the White Lantern that no one seems able to move was exciting. I was rooting for Hal to be able to use the lantern, but he can’t do anything with it either. I loved the comparison of the White Lantern to King Arthur’s fabled sword in the stone, but mostly because Sinestro had never heard of the story. And that definitely whets the reader’s appetite to know who the Lantern is going to allay with, and what the cost for that is going to be.

One of the most interesting aspects of the White Ring is when it doesn’t allow Boston Brand to aid a young girl aboard a ship attacked by pirates. That’s another layer of the mystery that I’m really starting to die to know. But it gives Aquaman and Mera a chance to arrive in true heroic fashion and save the day. I don’t know which of the five artists did those pages, but they are eye-popping and totally sold me on the idea of Aquaman and Mera as royalty. They looked absolutely amazing and inspiring, and I took a lot of joy in knowing the scale armor Aquaman wears is bulletproof. However, I was slightly confused by the bullet that seems to merely “scratch” his forehead. And his ability to summon “dead” sea life to help is another curiosity. First, why? And second, how are the undead sea creatures still, uh, living?

But I loved the fact that Mera no longer has flipper feet. That’s something that’s stressed fans for years. 🙂

I have to admit that I’m not so sold on Firestorm’s present incarnation. To me, it feels like busywork and I’m not interested in the character enough at this point to really dig in. The new mystery surrounding the Martian Manhunter’s arrival on Earth isn’t exactly compelling reading yet, but I’m curious enough.

I do love the new Hawkman and Hawkwoman, together again and once more in love. I love seeing the Hawks in action. However, I’m disturbed by them chasing the bones of their original bodies. That’s just kind of weird. But I’m wondering what it all means.

So, altogether, another amazing issue in this mini-series. They just can’t arrive fast enough.

No Responses to “BRIGHTEST DAY #1 by Geoff Johns, Peter Tomasi, Ivan Reis, Pat Gleason, Ardian Syaf, Scott Clark, and Joe Prado”

Leave a Reply

