BookHound
Reviews and Recommendations by Mel Odom, Professional Writer

SAILOR by Tom Epperson

Tom Epperson Sailor

When I first saw the book Sailor and read the premise, I figured I be getting a Lee Child/Jack Reacher type of story. I was happy with that because I like the run and gun novels a lot.

Instead of being a tightly woven kill or be killed tale, it shakes loose story threads all over the place. It also introduces LOTS of characters. There were so many characters loose in the story that at one point I was tempted to sit down and make my own scorecard to keep track of them all. It read like there were four or five novels jammed into this one story and I had some trouble keeping them all straight, or remembering who I was supposed to be rooting for.

The only thing that truly saved the book for me was that Tom Epperson does a miraculous job of making all those characters come to life and somehow tagging them so I could keep up with them. Even though there was a lot going on with double-crosses and triple-crosses, keeping them all straight was an arduous process.

I can’t help but imagine that the author must have covered a whole wall at home like the police investigators do on their whiteboards, and must have had strings running from one scene to the other to keep all the time frames straight.

I really enjoyed the hero, Gray’s, history when it finally got revealed. Everything really fit with the character and made him layers and layers deep. I wasn’t so happy with Gina, the damsel in distress, all the time. That was probably intentional, but it helps me if I’m rooting for the hero/heroine in these things all the time instead of having to decide.

One of the things I wasn’t exactly keen on was the way so many of the subplots got resolved on their own. In fact, some of them I really didn’t care about because they weren’t what I was interested in seeing at the time.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but I’d recommend this one only to readers who love complicated plots and are good at keeping a number of elements separate while reading.

No Responses to “SAILOR by Tom Epperson”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

